Skip to content

Not so “ordinary”

March 21, 2013

It’s amazing how hungry you can get after a night out walking the streets of Paris and dancing the night away at a club that was slightly reminiscent of the vampire club in the movie Blade. I kept waiting for the scene to play out where the blood shoots from the sprinklers and vampires swoop in devouring the unsuspecting crowd of clubbers in the disco tech! Thank goodness the only devouring that occurred that night was when I sunk my teeth into the awesomeness that was my street vendor chicken sandwich. A simple chicken sandwich that I couldn’t stop eating. Tomato, grilled onion, chicken and mayo. I was unaffected by cold or my heels on our walk home that night, all that was on my mind was that I just ate that entire sandwich and I want more!

chicken sandwich

chicken sandwich

Another night in search of a quick bite, which never happens in France (unless it’s to go or chipotle) we wandered into a brasserie not far from our home. It was beautiful and the staff was dressed very chic. It was definitely not a place that I thought would have a cheeseburger on the menu. Oh but it was, and even though we ordered a delicious Cote du Rhone and buttery escargot, I did it. I ordered the cheeseburger despite the snarky look from the waiter as I giggled like a school girl over a cheeseburger. I had to try it, even if my burger came out like an abused hockey puck after the Stanley Cup! It was worth it. Perfectly cooked and juicy! It was a simple cheeseburger, void of any foo foo ingredients. Just meat and cheese! The juice dripped down my hand from my medium cooked burger onto my crispy fries, and I wasn’t embarrassed at all. I was happy!

Cheeseburger in Paradise!!

Cheeseburger in Paradise!!

My next not so ordinary item would have to be the pizza we had at a little Italian place by Basilique du Sacre-Coeur near Montmarte. Cooked in a wood fired oven, topped with lardons and mushrooms and served to us by a gregarious server who made the experience that much more memorable! Again I lost myself in the melty cheese and another Cote du Rhone.  Before I knew it I had almost eaten as much as my boyfriend.  We had been laughing and talking so much that I had nearly finished the whole pizza.  To avoid looking like a pig, I surrendered the rest to my boyfriend.  I had done the right thing, a few more bites and people might have started asking when I was due!

Pizza with lardons and mushrooms

Pizza with lardons and mushrooms

And last but not least there was ice cream.  Leave it to the french to make a composed dessert out of ice cream. Located at a brasserie across from the galleries lafayette, was a cold, rich bowl of heaven. It wasn’t just ice cream or even similar to an ice cream sundae.   A chocolate sorbet lead the way for a creamy vanilla bean ice cream and a salted caramel ice cream with bits of crunchy caramel throughout. All topped with real fatty whipped cream and almonds.  The almond tuile was a little thick, but I set it to the side and broke bits off here and there.  It was called the gourmandaise.  I can’t wait to go back and try the other options on the menu, all in the name of research! Bien sur!

gourmandaise

790 gourmandaise

2 Comments
  1. Aunt Cat permalink

    Your descriptions are amazing! Keep these coming. They are a real joy to read 🙂 Love you!

  2. Mom permalink

    Wow Nikki and not a morsel for dear ole Mom! Love the stories also keep them coming…Love you honey 🙂

Leave a comment