Skip to content

The mini bar a.k.a. my fridge

February 26, 2013

When I first moved here to Paris, I had imagined all of the wonderful meals I would create for my boyfriend and I in our quaint little apartment. If I can throw a dinner party and decorate cakes in my little studio apartment in Dallas, I could be Julia in Paris! Right? Wrong…..way wrong. The one BIG difference between my apartment here and my apartment in Dallas…… my BIG refrigerator. Now the one in my studio wasn’t anything special, but compared to my little ice box here it was enormous. I keep hoping that every time I open it, it will miraculously be filled with bottles of booze like the mini bar at a hotel. Sadly it is not, I only open it to discover that yet again, I must decide what to make for the next meal. Given my frugal amount of space, I usually have to be creative with the items I buy at the store. I’m not a big fan of eating the same things over and over again (unless it is my mom’s biscuits and gravy). So you probably will notice the same types of things from other posts being used again and again. Nonetheless, each one is special to me, just like my mini bar (even though it didn’t come with booze).

Brioche toast with spinach, swiss, ham and tomatoes and over easy egg.

Brioche toast with spinach, swiss, ham and tomatoes and over easy egg.

Chicken stock

Chicken stock

20130222_195012

Shiitake and button mushrooms

Shiitake and button mushrooms

Duck and mushroom risotto

Duck and mushroom risotto

Stuffed chicken thigh with ravioli

Stuffed scary hairy chicken thigh with ravioli

4 Comments
  1. Mom permalink

    Too funny honey. Your creations are beautiful. Reuse takes on a new meaning. Just think of it as each day is an opportunity to create. I envy Ben…personal chef every day

  2. Mottie and Aunt Pugs permalink

    Hello nikki, we like the chicken and the duck and rosetto. So do you bring the duck home alive. we miss you Ms. hootus have fun on your adventure. Can’t wait till yall come home!

  3. Mottie and Aunt Pugs permalink

    Ps do you grocery shop every day?

  4. Paprika permalink

    Why can’t you make this good stuff when we see you? Because Catherine won’t like it? That’s ok, I will eat it all!

Leave a comment